apreciouschild

Just another WordPress.com site

My Experience as A Precious Child volunteer

on August 3, 2011
 
I have thoroughly enjoyed my experience with A Precious Child.  I began my volunteering journey not knowing much about the organizations that existed, and how much they truly help.  Yes, I knew there were organizations and that they helped, but that was basically the extent of my knowledge.  I was lucky to have found this organization; not only have I learned a lot about what it takes to help people, but I have learned how much one organization can inspire and change the lives for those in need for the better. 
 
Not only is the idea of helping children in need a great one, the way A Precious Child goes about it is truly amazing.  Families come in and are able to be comfortable and get the whole shopping experience they deserve (for no charge).  Children are able to come in to a very well organized and maintained shopping area (one that rivals any department store), pick out what they want, play, and enjoy.  Parents are able to come in, grab some things for themselves, and gain pride for being able to provide for their children’s needs. 
 
Being a child can be a brutal experience, even if you are fortunate enough to have everything you need, but being a child whose parents or guardians aren’t able to afford them a jacket in the winter can be unbearable.  Luckily, this organization exists for those children.  Not only does A Precious Child provide families with toys, sports equipment, clothing, school supplies, and necessities, but they are also able to provide families with pride and self esteem – something that everyone needs to survive. 
 
My experience has been an eye opener, and I have learned so much.  I have seen how much can be accomplished when people care and are determined to make a difference, as well as how much a difference on organization can make.  I am proud to have been a small part of this organization, and I will continue to promote it long after my volunteer hours are done. 
 
Laney Loftin
One response to “My Experience as A Precious Child volunteer

  1. Aunt Vicki says:

    Nicely said Laney!

Leave a Reply

